My Home Assistant on a Raspberry Pi

My Story

So with every story of year 2020, my story revolves around automating my home to suit to a better lifestyle to adapt to the covid work from home scenario.

So i stumble upon the fantastic opensource platform for home automation, "HomeAssistant" and all i had to do was use my raspberry pi which i was using for a smart display and other projects to be used with Home Assistant with my google mini speakers.

The Idea was to automate the call to prayer and i found some solutions on the hass.io page and others from youtube which tend to work, but i had to tweak them after the installation of the OS.

The Raspberry Pi 3 B and Home assistant

On a weekend in the month of october, i decided to use my Raspberry Pi 3 B which was used an year ago for a smart display project. Its one of those magical devices which would never give up on you, all i had to do is figure which os to install.

Then i stumbled upon the HomeAssistant homepage recommendation to install the hass.io OS, ignore my complex naming details, you can google the details, to get the os or i can include the links as i go along.

So it begins

I followed Juanmtech for initial deployment of homeassistant on a raspberrypi 3B (which i had since 2016), initial deployment went well with the homeassitant image flashed on a microsd card and inserted into a raspberrypi 3B, i also had my google smart speaker setup to be integrated with it, Things were looking good and once the raspberrypi booted, it connected to my wifi and i was able to see its ip address on fing application on my iphone. I connected to the web application using the ip address: 8123 setup my homeassistant account and followed the pages to